The Civil Service Examination(CSE) is a nationwide competitive examination in India conducted by the Union Public Service Commission for recruitment to higher Civil Services of the Government of India which the Indian administrative service and Indian police service also comes under it which is also referred to UPSC.

How is the UPSC Examination conducted?

The three phases in which the UPSC exam is held are:

1. Preliminary Examination 

           *General Studies Paper-I

           *General Studies Paper-I

The most common name given to these tests are Civil Service Aptitude test(CSAT).

2. Main Examination:

 *Nine Papers of conventional(essay) type

(In which two papers are qualifying and only one out of seven is counted)

3. Personal Interview

This complete Process takes about 32 hours.

Knowledge/Skill tested: Writing, English, General Knowledge, others

Year Started: 1922(99 years ago)

Duration of exam: 2 hours(Prelims)/ 3 hours(Mains)

Score: 0-200(Prelims)/ 0-1750(Mains)/ 0-275(Interview)

Total Marks: 2025

The final merit list comes out on the basis of both mains and prelims.

Exam held: Once a year

Attempts: There are about 6 attempts for general category, about 9 attempts for OBC and PWD- general, and therefore no limit for SC/ST Category. 

Languages preferred: Hindi or English(Medium of questions)  

Answers can be given in any language

Scores used by: UPSC

Annual candidates: 550000/per year

Qualification Rate: 0.1% approximately

Eligibility Criteria: You must be graduated and also a citizen of India


Age: The minimum age is 21 and maximum is 32(For general category)

(35 for OBC(Other Backward Classes) and 37 for SC(Scheduled Castes)/ST(Scheduled Tribes.))

(The age limit for Defense service personnel is about 40 Years.)  

(For ECOs/SSCOs those who have completed their initial five years in military services, age limit is 32 years.)

The standard age limit too applies for the economically weaker sections(EWS).



1. All India Services:

  • Indian Police Service(IPS)
  • Indian Administrative Service(IAS)
2. Civil Services:

  • Indian Foreign Services(IFS)
  • Indian Information Service(IIS)
  • Indian Revenue Service(IRS)
  • Indian Trade Service(ITS)
  • Indian Telecommunication Service(ITS)
  • Indian DEFENCE Accounts Service(IDAS)
  • Indian Ordnance Factories Service(IOFS)
  • Indian Railway Traffic Service(IRTS)
3. Group B Services:

  • Pondicherry Civil Service(PCS)
  • Pondicherry Police Service(PPS)
  • Delhi, Andaman and Nicobar Islands Civil Services(DANICS)
  • Delhi, Andaman and Nicobar Islands Police Services(DANIPS)
  • Armed Forces Headquarters Civil Services(AFHCS)

तेरी तक़दीर तेरे हाथ में है,

तेरी जीत तेरे हाथ में है।

तू रख हौसला ए मुसाफ़िर,

हर कोशिश तेरी तेरे साथ मैं है।।

            -SAHAJ DANG

Post a Comment

* Please Don't Spam Here. All the Comments are Reviewed by Admin.